HSV Monthly Public Lectures Archive 2015

Humanist Society of Victoria public lectureThe Humanist Society of Victoria hosts a series of monthly public lectures by guest speakers raising questions of public interest and importance.

Where: Balwyn Library, 336 Whitehorse Rd, Balwyn, Victoria (Melways: 46 E8)
When:  Fourth Thursday of each month, 7:30 pm for 8:00 pm start

Generation Next: Progressive, Passionate and Political

Thursday 26 November 2015, 8:15 pm, following A.G.M.

Jason Ball (HSV) Read Lecture Summary …

The Artificial Intelligence Debate

Thursday 22 October 2015, 8:00 pm

Carl Mahoney (HSV) Read Lecture Summary …

Supporting Refugees and Humanizing the Refugee Debate

Thursday 24 September 2015, 8:00 pm

Penny Daly (The Welcome Group) Read Lecture Summary …

The Classical Antidote to Cultural Pessimism

Thursday 27 August 2015, 8:00 pm

Dr Matthew Sharpe (Deakin University) Read Lecture Summary …

Peace-Building or War-Making?

Thursday 23 July 2015, 8:00 pm

Professor Michael Hamel-Green (Borderlands) Read Lecture Summary …

Studying Primates before They All Go: The Orangutans of Kalimantan

Thursday 25 June 2015, 8:00 pm

Robert Bender (HSV) Read Lecture Summary …

Tales from the Past: Walking Back in Time on the Rocks

Thursday 28 May 2015, 8:00 pm

Professor Patricia Vickers Rich (Monash University) Read Lecture Summary …

From Achilles to Anzac: Homeric Heroes and the Anzac Tradition

Thursday 23 April 2015, 8:00 pm

Dr Sarah Midford (La Trobe University) Read Lecture Summary …

Dealing with Peer Disagreement: What to Do When Smart People Disagree

Thursday 26 March 2015, 8:00 pm

James Fodor (University of Melbourne Secular Society) Read Lecture Summary …

A Brief History of the Coranderrk Aboriginal Reserve

Thursday 26 February 2015, 8:00 pm

Dr Gary Presland (historian) Read Lecture Summary …