HSV Monthly Public Lectures Archive 2014

Humanist Society of Victoria public lectureThe Humanist Society of Victoria hosts a series of monthly public lectures by guest speakers raising questions of public interest and importance.

Where: Balwyn Library, 336 Whitehorse Rd, Balwyn, Victoria (Melways: 46 E8)
When:  Fourth Thursday of each month, 7:30 pm for 8:00 pm start

The Year in International Affairs

Thursday 27 November 2014, 8:15 pm

Melissa Conley-Tyler (Australian Institute of International Affairs) Read Lecture Summary …

Reason vs Emotion: Key Drivers in the History of Moral Progress

Thursday 23 October 2014, 8:00 pm

Dr Meredith Doig (Rationalist Society of Australia) Read Lecture Summary …

Philosophical Literacy: How Much Moral Philosophy Do You Need to Know?

Thursday 25 September 2014, 8:00 pm

Dr Patrick Stokes (Deakin University) Read Lecture Summary …

Matter Matters: Why We Should All Be Materialists

Thursday 28 August 2014, 8:00 pm

Ian Robinson (Central Victorian Atheists and Freethinkers) Read Lecture Summary …

The Rights of Children in Reproductive Technology and Adoption

Thursday 24 July 2014, 8:00 pm

Maggie Millar (actor, artist) Read Lecture Summary …

My Theory of Everything

Thursday 26 June 2014, 8:00 pm

Professor Stan Van Hooft (Deakin University)

Australia’s Royal Commission into Child Abuse: No Place to Hide

Thursday 22 May 2014, 8:00 pm

Dr Wayne Chamley (Broken Rites Australia) Read Lecture Summary …

Environment, Population and the State: Ethical Considerations

Thursday 24 April 2014, 8:00 pm

Jill Quirk (Sustainable Population Australia) Read Lecture Summary …

Secular Government in a Multicultural Society?

Thursday 27 March 2014, 8:00 pm

Dr Richard Di Natale (Senator) Read Lecture Summary …

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) So Far

Thursday 27 February 2014, 8:00 pm

Panel: David Maxwell (social worker) and Vern Hughes (Civil Society) Read Lecture Summary …